Page 2 of 2

Re: Niro DashCam install

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:26 pm
by h2onorth
Interesting installation. Can you still replacethe fuse box cover though? I assume not?
h2onorth

Re: Niro DashCam install

Posted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 7:11 pm
by Morri
Have followed explanation of running cable from reaview mirror to fuse board and was planning to use theOBD connection to pick up the 12volts but unable to find a connector which doesn’t foul the cover.
Has anyone found a suitable device?

Re: Niro DashCam install

Posted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 5:38 pm
by davethesteam
I am about to buy a dashcam and want it installed so it is always on. Any suggestions on what fuse to use for that via a hardwiring kit.
Are any of the 'spare' fuses in the internal fuse box permanently live?

Re: Niro DashCam install

Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 4:48 pm
by davethesteam
Had mine fitted at Halfords - great job (Nexbase 322) for £125 inc fitting and 32Gb SD card.
Kia item (£126) is so basic it probably won't satisfy insurers (No GPS)
Local Kia agent wanted over £150 just to fit my own - they did not get the job (£92 per hour!!!!!)

Re: Niro DashCam install

Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 4:41 pm
by dmrodgers
Had my Nextbase, which I already owned, fitted by Halfords. Charged £25 and did a wonderful neat job, absolute bargain especially as it now comes on automatically when the engine is started and powers done when engine shut down. No cables showing except for around 1 inch where it comes down from the headlining to Dash cam but this is up against the rear view fitting on the windscreen so hardly shows, All other cabling neatly hiding behind the trim, you wouldn't know any cabling was there. From my point of view wouldn't hesitate using Halfords again to fit a dash cam and so much cheaper than my Kia dealer,