Can I update the sat nav

All Kia Niro related discussions
Post Reply
Bruiserboymeasures
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:10 pm

Can I update the sat nav

Post by Bruiserboymeasures » Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:40 pm

Even though my Niro is only 2 months old the built in satnav is at least 4 or 5 years out of date. My street was built over 4 years ago and doesn’t show up at all and a nearby new village Little Stanion doesn’t exist either. Is there a way to update the satnav somehow or do I need to buy a Tom Tom and forget the built in system?


radar2018
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:26 pm

Re: Can I update the sat nav

Post by radar2018 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:36 am

Same here, I use WAZE on CARPLAY it seems the most upto date possible, (warning me of a pot hole that has just appeared)


deguy
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:54 pm
Location: Expat in Munich

Re: Can I update the sat nav

Post by deguy » Fri Apr 26, 2019 10:00 am

You can update the database maps, which are based on TomTom, but car satnavs maps are notoriously slow to catch up.
Niro Spirit 2017 HEV in Ocean Blue (German spec similar to First Edition without ADAP)
Previously: Mercedes B-Class 200CDI Autotronic


NiroSpike
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:43 pm

Re: Can I update the sat nav

Post by NiroSpike » Fri Jun 28, 2019 8:56 am

I've just got my Niro (2017 First Edition) back from service and the Sat Nav App and Maps plus the Console software and firmware are all updated.

In case you are interested I have attached a photo of the System Info

Spike 190627 (2).jpg

Not had a chance to see what roads are now on that weren't before. Also not sure if the Sat Nav now has new options/features.


davethesteam
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 6:11 pm

Re: Can I update the sat nav

Post by davethesteam » Mon Aug 19, 2019 4:06 pm

Can the SatNav take destinations as postcodes.
My limited use of SatNav has only allowed me to enter city/street/number - what a pain!!
Any ideas please?


radar2018
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:26 pm

Re: Can I update the sat nav

Post by radar2018 » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:22 pm

The Sat Nav does take post codes, however if you put in the "post code " and the street or estate is not on the maps I doubt it will be of use to you

If you enter a valid POST CODE in to the space where it says city, it will quide you there


Post Reply

Return to “Main Kia Niro chat”