Tyre wear.

All Kia Niro related discussions
Rotarep

Post by Rotarep »

I have a Niro 3 and have done almost 21000 miles, I have just had to replace my 2 front tyres as they have worn through to the cloth on the inner shoulder of both tyres, now I can here you all saying it's the tracking but my wife's Niro 3 has the very same issue, same wear on both inner shoulders of the tyres. Although I've done 21000miles my wife's car has only completed around 15000miles but as I say is showing the same wear. Does anyone else have this issue, Being a trained mechanic I find it difficult to comprehend that 2 identical vehicles have exactly the same issue. We are both experienced drivers, I drive for a living so I am not hashy or an aggressive driver. Has anyone had an issue with tyre wear. Thanks in advance.

AlanW55

Post by AlanW55 »

I've not had problems with my Niro, ( just changed front two evenly worn 18" Michelin's). But, I have had problems in the past when both outer edges wore quicker than the inside. I found out that the gauge on the footpump I was using significantly over-reported the pressure - they should have been 30psi, and were actually 22psi at the garage changing the tyres. Possible in your case?
You don't say that you have actually had the tracking checked?
UK 2021 Mark 1 HEV 4 in silky silver, standard spec.
previously UK 2017 First Edition HEV in pearlescent white, standard spec.
h2onorth

Post by h2onorth »

Hi all. 17000 miles on myniro 2 even tyre wear
h2onorth
davethesteam

Post by davethesteam »

I hope I'll get more than that by at least a factor of 100%. Just trading in my Nissan Note 1,5dci on Mich - 46k miles from a set!!
djbobbins

Post by djbobbins »

I got even wear and about 29k miles out of the front tyres on my Niro2.
Fields

Post by Fields »